Fourth Iso Lomso cohort of fellows selected

22 April 2020

STIAS is pleased to announce its fourth cohort of Iso Lomso fellows for applications submitted during its last call.

The STIAS Research and Fellowship Programme Committee recently concluded its selection of the Iso Lomso cohort of fellows for 2020. Seven candidates were offered the prestigious three-year fellowship at the Stellenbosch Institute for Advanced Study. They join the first cohort of five candidates, the second cohort of seven candidates and the third cohort of seven candidates to constitute the current STIAS Iso Lomso fellows.

The 2020 cohort of Iso Lomso fellows, by row from top left: Nasandratra Ravonjiarison, Arcade Ndoricimpa, Elina Amadhila, Edwin Madala, Etienne Wamba, Lukman Abdulrauf, Wamuwi Mbao

The seven selected candidates with their respective project titles are:

  • Lukman Adebisi Abdulrauf (Nigerian), PhD from University of Pretoria in 2016, currently based at the Department of Public Law, University of Ilorin in Nigeria
    • Constitutionalism and the internet in Africa: Progress, challenges and prospects
  • Elina Amadhila (Namibian), PhD from Stellenbosch University in 2016, currently based at the Department of Management Sciences, University of Namibia in Namibia
    • Government agricultural finance interventions as instruments for social protection: a comparative review of developing economies
  • Ntakadzeni Edwin Madala (South African), PhD from University of Johannesburg in 2013, currently based at the Biochemistry Department, University of Venda in South Africa
    • Deciphering the biological consequences of geometrical isomerization of natural compounds
  • Wamuwi Mbao (South African), PhD from Stellenbosch University in 2013, currently based at the English Department, Stellenbosch University in South Africa
    • Representing Discontent: South Africa in Words and  on screen
  • Arcade Ndoricimpa (Burundian), PhD from University of Dar Es Salaam in 2014, currently based at the Faculty of Economics and Management, University of Burundi in Burundi
    • Capital Movement Through Trade Misinvoicing in Africa: A disaggregate approach
  • Solofo Nasandratra  Ravonjiarison (Malagasy), PhD from University of Dar Es Salaam in 2018, currently based at the Radio-Isotopes Laboratory, Universite D’Antananarivo in Madagascar
    • Local soil knowledge : a tool for sustainable agricultural systems in Madagascar
  • Etienne Wamba (Cameroonian), PhD from University of Yaounde I in 2013, currently based at the African Institute for Mathematical Sciences (AIMS) in Cameroon
    • Splitting Dynamics and Quantum Hydrodynamics of Bose-Einstein condensates

The first periods of residency for each of the fellows will occur between the months of July 2020 to June 2021. As with the first three cohorts, STIAS intends to approach several of its sister institutes for advanced study and others in view of a possible residency abroad for each of the fellows during 2021/2022.

Members of the Fellowship and Research Programme Committee had earlier shortlisted 21 outstanding applications out of 91 submissions. As in the previous selection rounds, the committee will consider offering STIAS visiting scholarships to additional applicants.

Photographs: supplied

Share this post:

Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Subscribe to posts like these:

STIAS is a creative space for the mind.